Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Brake Hyd. cylinder too weak??
    I'm really new at all things buggy/automotive. But I recently replaced the master cylinder on my buggy. The old one was a 1980s 3 wheeler rear master cylinder. It was totally seized/corroded. I replaced it with this - Hydraulic Master Cylinder : Go Karts Parts: Racing Kart Parts: Engines: Frames: Tires: Versailles, Ohio: USA: Indoor Track: Tips: Chassis: Kits: GoKart: Briggs: Yerf Dog: Manco: Comet: Torque

After bleeding etc. the new cylinder wouldn't even budge the piston on the caliper!! SO I took apart the caliper(from a 1983 Honda 250r), cleaned it up, added new seals and tried again. Still nothing.

Is it possible that the new(and cheap) master cylinder simple doesn't have enough pressure? Could someone recommend a "good" budget one?

2. Collapse Details
    Re: Brake Hyd. cylinder too weak??
    Scottsdale, AZ. 10.9 miles from the trailheads
    Hard to say. Do you know what the bore size is? If it's 10mm or larger, it should work.

Are you sure you got it bled fully?
    Take the master cylinder (m/c) off and the caliper off and let the caliper hang below the m/c.

Pump the m/c a few times - releasing it very slowly. This might help the bubbles rise to the top.

If the piston isn't bottomed out in the caliper body, push it back into the body as far as it will go - all while keeping the caliper down low - and if you can make the banjo bolt where the line attaches the highest point, this will help. Doing this will displace the majority of the fluid back to the m/c, along with any bubbles that my be present.

Pump the m/c again, slowly (it is full of fluid, right?) and see if you get any piston movement. If you do, pump it until pads are touching and then push the piston back in again. Do this a couple of times and it usually displaces any air that may be caught.