1. Collapse Details
    Do Fox 2.0 Shocks need a bump stop? or limiting strap?
    I'm considering some 16" long travel shocks that would bottom out when my rear end has a few inches of travel, but I see that unlike your typical coil over or ATV shock that there isn't any sort of bump stop, do you have to build one to protect the shock?

I've never used anything other than ATV shocks, so these long travel fox/king types I have no experience with..

2. Collapse Details
    Re: Do Fox 2.0 Shocks need a bump stop? or limiting strap?
    Hi Martin - Buggy weight and unsprung mass seem to be the desermining factors along with intended use. Haven's seen a them on single seat minibuggies with avt style wheels but 16 inches of travel might give you a bit more scope for jumping and even with a single seat light weight this will mean landing with a lot more force.
    Top out with 16 inches of travel and long trailing or a-arms, ie; more than 16 inches of travel, just about have to have, will increase the force that the unsprung mass (wheel, hub, brake, arms and 1/2 of shock weight) tops out at. What this means is an unsprung mass with 8 inches of travel will return to full droop after full compretion (say in the air, after a big hit or jump), at a certain rate of accelleration, for 18 inches of travel that accelleration will continue until top out.
    I'd suggest that limiting straps even with atv wheels will protect your investment and shock shaft type bump stops would limit damage.
    A progressive set up with the shock angled to the centre line of the buggy would have good affect to.
    Thanks Ironknot

3. Collapse Details
    Olympia, Wa. or 25 gallons of Diesel from the dunes
    I ran the 2.0 air shocks both with and with out springs and never used either straps or bump stops, not one issue with either setup.
    Being pushed to better yourself is never a bad thing.

EL TORO sand car w/ intercooled TURBO 1397 Busa / Subaru STI diff. / cutting brakes