Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Sandrail build tips, tricks, and stuff learned the hard way.
    I am starting this topic so that everyone, and I mean everyone, no matter how small you think you are, can post anything you have learned that could help someone out that is getting started. *Everything from removing stubborn bolts, to welding tricks, to jig fixtures, to figuring out how to set stuff up like suspension, tackling bumpsteer, toe change, *setting up proper rack location, etc.. .

I am by no means an expert, I have almost 4 years experience building my own rails now, and have evolved my building technique, as well as figured out quicker ways to do things in that time, so I will start by posting some of what I know. *I say some, because there are so many little things I have learned, I don't think I can get them all in on this post, so I will update as I start remembering. *This is not the only way to do things, I am just saying my way, and you can take it or leave it compared to what others may post. *This is just info for people to have for different options to possibly suit their needs.

Couple things I learned the hard way. In no particular order:

Always tack everything up first, then go back and start welding your tubes up in 1/4, or 1/2 tube sections at a time.

Weld all your suspension, seat, radiator, etc. tabs on last, that way, even if the frame does tweak a bit, you can still have all your points being in the correct place, and if you have a fixture like me, doing the tabs last makes sure the bolts come out a lot easier to remove it.

Same thing with the motor tabs, if you run tubes to the motor mounts, weld the tubes up first, let them fully cool, then tack around the motor mounts in 1/4" sections so they don't pull. Nothing sucks more than having to use a crowbar to get your motor in and out.