Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    3D Printer - this thing's cool!
    Scottsdale, AZ. 10.9 miles from the trailheads
    I've been toying with the idea of getting a 3D printer for a while now. There are so many little detail things that could be done with it, that the temptation finally overcame my common sense (this seems to be an issue often in my world).

So I've been doing research for a couple of months and came across the MakerGear M2. All the reviews and such pointed me in this direction. I also went ahead and purchased Simplify3D software to go with it. It was the most recommended of the available stuff. The printer has a bed capable of 10x8x8.

I was able to download a recommended replacement part for the printer (the mfg actually says "go get this guy's feed arm, it's better than ours, and print it" in the instructions) and print it within 10 minutes of getting the printer out of the box. It's surprisingly simple to start running.

I can take any of my 3D solids out of ACAD, export them as an STL file and drop it right into the Simplify3D software and then print away. Here's a scaled down Method bead lock rim and the arm that was recommended:

There is a learning curve. I've been reading on the MakerGear and Simplify3D sites about making bridges and such so when the system starts doing "floating" areas, I don't get this sort of stringing:

I have had three fully successful items that I've designed/made too. Three versions of a cell phone holder. The first two are just cradles. One is a tight tolerance piece that will attach to the dash of my XP. It holds the phone nice and tight and won't let it flop out during use, the other is scaled larger just a tad so the phone drops in easily. This piece is attached to the wall under my shop's stereo.