Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    ST2 LT In Progress - Help me overcome its flaws :)
    Hi Guys

I've finally started my build of a Badlands ST2 LT. I know it is not the best buggy but as far as i can see it is more suited for a complete noob like me

I will try and document my progress as i go along. Unfortunately i can only spare one day a week for this project so prgress may be slow .

A little about me: I'm 26 and work as a Systems Administrator in a hosting company. I amsomewhat mechanically inclined (sp?) But I have NO experience in building buggies so please be patient with me if i don't get this metal working stuff right away. oh and Please excuse my poor spelling as English is not my first language

As far as i can read on this forum, the ST2 have some weakneses. in particular the rear drive and the lower front a-arm. So i've been researching different solutions and i think i may have come up with something but, i definately need you guys approval..

I'm building my frame out of 35mm tubing with a 2mm wall thickness. Oh yeah i'm in metric-land Denmark Scandinavia so thats 1.38 inch diameter tubing .0788 wall for you guys suspension and other high stress areas are 2.5mm (.0985") wall.

i think is coming along pretty nicely and im getting ready to get my plates cnc-cut.. i drew em all in autocad (which was another first for me) . The file is attached in this post....

After 6 daysO'work this is my progress:

As you can see i've beefed up the leading edge of the lower a-arm and made them 100 mm (4") longer to give me a bit more travel and to keep the front end wider than the rear. i've also put in 1 degree of rake? so the wheels moves a little backwards when the suspension goes up.