Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. Collapse Details
    2009+ Yamaha R1 Drive-By-Wire
    #1
    Default
    I'm researching the Yamaha motors and have honed in on the 2009+ Yamaha R1 motor because the have a crossplane crank for more torque under the curve and they sound wicked.

    The first downside I see, which is probably a big one, is that they are drive by wire. Does anybody know if the throttle bodies off an older R1 can replace the newer ones for their cable throttle? Has anyone done it? I'd like to know if the ECU will still run the motor if there is no motor on the throttle bodies.
    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    Re: 2009+ Yamaha R1 Drive-By-Wire
    #2
    The Bob Ross of MBN Bullnerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Cream Ridge ,NJ
    Posts
    9,041
    Default
    If I was in your shoes, Id call Weller Racing in AZ.

    Super nice people and they use R1s exclusively in the SR1 short course class.

    Corry used to be a member here many years ago.
    "Speed is time-time is speed"-Dennis Hopper

    Quote Originally Posted by TALON View Post
    did you use a special bigfoot camera or something ,you know all blurry could be a tree stump kinda thing .
    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    Re: 2009+ Yamaha R1 Drive-By-Wire
    #3
    Default
    All the new motors are fly by wire, it's no big deal. BTW none of the SR1 rigs run the crossplane motors, their all 07-08.
    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    Re: 2009+ Yamaha R1 Drive-By-Wire
    #4
    The Bob Ross of MBN Bullnerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Cream Ridge ,NJ
    Posts
    9,041
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by MC@ Performance Fab View Post
    All the new motors are fly by wire, it's no big deal. BTW none of the SR1 rigs run the crossplane motors, their all 07-08.
    There you go. Answers all your questions.
    "Speed is time-time is speed"-Dennis Hopper

    Quote Originally Posted by TALON View Post
    did you use a special bigfoot camera or something ,you know all blurry could be a tree stump kinda thing .
    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    Re: 2009+ Yamaha R1 Drive-By-Wire
    #5
    Default
    Thank you both for the replies. It appears the 2009+ R1 engines are not allowed in the class. I'm guessing because of the DBW. I'll probably end up going with another engine just for simplicity.
    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    Re: 2009+ Yamaha R1 Drive-By-Wire
    #6
    The Bob Ross of MBN Bullnerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Cream Ridge ,NJ
    Posts
    9,041
    Default
    What class?
    "Speed is time-time is speed"-Dennis Hopper

    Quote Originally Posted by TALON View Post
    did you use a special bigfoot camera or something ,you know all blurry could be a tree stump kinda thing .
    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Re: 2009+ Yamaha R1 Drive-By-Wire
    #7
    Default
    They are not allowed in the SR1 class being referenced. According to SR1racing.com:

    Motor: Yamaha R1 (2002 – 2008)
    Kawasaki ZX-10 (2004 - 2010)
    Honda CBR 1000 (2004 – 2012) (probationary period throughout 2015)

    Not that it really matters to me, I'm not trying to fit into any sort of class.
    Reply With Quote
     

Similar Threads

  1. Yamaha RX1 CVT/Yamaha R-1 Gear Ratio's
    By redbeard in forum Driveline
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-09-2015, 11:07 PM
  2. Stock Cooling Fan Wire Big Enough?
    By 2kmoss in forum Controls and electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2014, 05:52 PM
  3. earth wire need help
    By mfeinmesser in forum Controls and electrical
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-31-2012, 06:49 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 12:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •