Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Newb needs plans
    Iíve been looking at purchasing a set of plans for a 2 seater as well as a 1 seater buggy. I have never built a buggy before, but I would like to build one rather than buy one. I have been reading about the different plans and designs, but I need an actual first hand experience on whoís used more than one plan. I am NOT looking for one product or design to be bashed, or improved. I am looking for an actual comparison of what design was more effective, clear instructions, does not need major improvements, ease of build and design. I have fab skills and can easily read and interpret blueprints, so dimensions and drawings are no big problem.

I have
    TIG, MIG, Oxy fuel welding equipment
    Chop saw
    Plasma cutter
    Drill press
    Cheap pipe kinker
    Many other various tools

I have quick and easy access to
    Lathe
    Parallel press
    Arbor and hydraulic presses ranging from 1 ton to 100 ton

I can get access to
    Water jetting
    CNC machining
    Brake press
    Vertical and horizontal Milling machine
    Pipe bender

I will be fabbing / purchasing
    Tube notcher
    Pipe benter
    Other tools as needed

While I am trying to keep my build cost effective, I can understand the need to be more spendy in certain aspects of the build. What I am looking for is not necessarily the BEST set of plans, but some damn good ones. I want independent suspension, and I will be beating the life out of these things. The less dependent on one supplier would also be a bonus.

Iíve looked at
    Buggy innovations
    Badlands buggy
    Rorty designs

The Edge
    Desert carts

Is seems that no one has any complaints about the Rorty designs, but is it really worth the extra $$$, remember that I am looking for 2 sets of plans. Perhaps, they will cut a deal for multiple designs???
    Otherwise I was looking at at set of ST3 plans from badlands and the cheetah plans from Buggy innovations