Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 59
  1. Collapse Details
    CAD software?????????
    #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Sheldon, Missouri
    Posts
    1,357
    Default
    I have seen some input on software in a few threads but not enough....could everyone that has (past or present) a CAD program chime in with opinions, reveiws, COST,.....and anything else that seems relevant (mainly relevant to the tube chassis designs we see here).

    Thank you!
    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    Re: CAD software?????????
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sun Valley,CA
    Posts
    546
    Default
    Solidwork, Over 5 K for commercial use and under $ 100.00 if you go for the student version and $ 149.99 with cosmos, everybody use it at work , aircraft engineer, I just start to learn it, kick ...
    "Anything is possible, it's just matter of Time, Money "
    "Always think out of the box"
    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    Re: CAD software?????????
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ponderay Idaho
    Posts
    771
    Default
    I use Autodesk Inventor. *

    I think a new seat of it is around 5K+ now. *I have no problem drawing the majority of stuff that I need for a tube chassis.
    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    Re: CAD software?????????
    #4
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by KWiKSand\";p=\"18255
    I use Autodesk Inventor. *

    I think a new seat of it is around 5K+ now. *I have no problem drawing the majority of stuff that I need for a tube chassis.

    Got any tips on using Inventor? I have been working in autocad for 11 years but Im totaly lost in Inventor.

    Mike
    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    Re: CAD software?????????
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ponderay Idaho
    Posts
    771
    Default
    Forget everything you ever learned in Autocad. *Hard to do, but it is the best way. *They are totally different mindsets. * In Autocad, you draw precise and dimension, in Inventor you sketch and then use dimensions and constraints to make it precise. *

    I use the Master sketch method mostly. *Once you get the hang of it, you wonder how you ever did anything in the past. *Avoid Adaptivity. *

    If you have any specific questions, pm me and I will see if I can help.
    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    Re: CAD software?????????
    #6
    Default
    Yeah *I can tell its nothing like autocad. I have not messed around with inventor in years but being you look to be a pro at it I may try it out again.

    Mike
    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Re: CAD software?????????
    #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Sheldon, Missouri
    Posts
    1,357
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by buggito\";p=\"18254
    Solidwork, Over 5 K for commercial use and under $ 100.00 if you go for the student version and $ 149.99 with cosmos, everybody use it at work , aircraft engineer, I just start to learn it, kick ...
    Are you able to see see range of motion, say with suspension, without the solidworks animator.......and what is cosmos?

    also anyone have experience with Rhinoceros 3D???
    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    Re: CAD software?????????
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    836
    Default
    Cant' beat the price of Alibre Xpress ....it's free.
    The full version of Alibre Design can model anything Solidworks or Inventor can (95% of the tasks in the same time or faster), and it starts around $800.
    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    Re: CAD software?????????
    #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Winder Georgia
    Posts
    7,960
    Default
    i got rhinoserous for free, plk racer has used it i know, he sent me that car he drew in rhinosaurus, but i have no idea how to use, i can use as much as i want, but you can only save 25 times for free....
    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    Re: CAD software?????????
    #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    836
    Default
    Alibre Xpress is free, with unlimited use.
    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •