Thread: Build Timeline

1. Collapse Details
    Build Timeline
    Hello everyone. Quick question:

If you:
    • Have the buggy designed down to the finest detail
    • Have purchased all of the laser cut parts, tubing, and off the shelf items
    • Everything is ready to be fab'd/assembled.

How long would it take to build one of these buggies?

Being a mechanical engineer, I'm hesitant to start building until I have all the details planned. I don't want to start building a cage/suspension and run into something that causes me to move pivot points or stretch the wheelbase.

I know that a lot of these projects get 1/2 way and are never finish. Other projects take years to complete. What is it about these projects that took longer than expected for you? Financial? Lack of free time? It got sick of working on it and you needed a break?

Just trying to gauge what is realistic.

2. Collapse Details
    Re: Build Timeline
    I also realize there is no way to plan for everything and something will inevitably change. But if I design around parts that are already purchased, it should help prevent some of the last minute changes.

3. Collapse Details
    Can you share some of the design details for us to review? It is always a good thing to have take a peek. We may see some things that may have been missed.

Justin
    Nowhere near the desert.

4. Collapse Details
    Scottsdale, AZ. 10.9 miles from the trailheads
    Ah, another Mech E - forget being so anal about everything and expecting it to go together like a Lego set. I know that's what I've always wanted during my builds and, well... (you end up making the cage three times) Forget about trying to be the perfect engineer. I'm one too and that little diploma that says I know what I'm doing (at least on paper) is pretty much just something to hang on the wall.