Thread: welding tips

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    welding tips
    i think some "welding tips" will be an excellent thread to start on here! maybe someone already done this, and i just couldn't find it. looking through many builds on this site, i've seen everything from absolutely beautiful welds....to "bird crap" welds. to start this, i'll let everyone know that i am a "self taught" welder(so, i'm not saying my welds are the greatest welds i've seen)! now, my job is a welder/fabricator with a trucking company. so here are a few mig welding tips i'll start with.....#1: get the welder set(many welders have good starting points listed for the thickness of metal you will be using). if you don't have a chart to start with, use some scrap metal and experiment with different heat settings and adjust your wire feed to find what works the best. after a while, you'll be able to adjust by the "buzzing" sound you hear. many things can affect what settings work best for different people(one example: how close you have the nozzle to your work piece) #2: i like to watch the "puddle" as i move along. it is easy to "undercut" your weld if you aren't paying attention to the "puddle". an "undercut" area WILL be a weak spot, so try to avoid doing this.

2. Collapse Details
    Re: welding tips
    Dusty, i agree, great topic. I started a similar titled titled " https://www.minibuggy.net/forum/proje...ild-buggy.html ". Also the rorty website has some great pictures of problem welds. My advice..... if you think welding is like gluing pieces together, its probably being done wrong

3. Collapse Details
    Yeah,
    I got a tip.

DON'T BUY A FLUX CORE ONLY WELDER.

Truth is its not bad, but welding splattering clean up is worth 50 or 100 more bucks NOT to have to do it.