Thread: Roll cage 101

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Roll cage 101
    If you build a roll cage that looks like these, When you need it the most it is going to fail.
    If you go straight (over like KFAB,s avatar)The windshield hoop is unsuported and will crush in on your head.
    If you go over sideways the entire cage will lay over and leave you unprotected.
    If you corner roll (Take a turn to fast)and one of the upper corners of the windshield hits first that corner has no suport and will come in on your head.
    If you want a cage that you can depend on, in any situation where you might need it you must have at least two tubes that are in a compression load.
    If they are in a tension load then you are betting your or someone elses life on your welds.
    I wont do that and I was a welder when you were eating crayons.
    The main hoops of a cage need to terminate in to the frame where they are suported so as that the frame doesnt just distort and render the cage to just be a bunch of crap that the paramedics are going to have to cut off with the jaws of life to retrieve your corpse.

P.S.If you are young and want to learn tell us and we will help.
    That is about half of what is on this site.
    If you come on here and start off telling us you are going to build something better than any one else and being arogant in general that is not well received.

2. Collapse Details
    Re: Roll cage 101
    You don't even have to be a experienced fabricator to see that the whole roof is unsupported. I wouldn't feel safe in a care like that. The first buggy i bought was a homebuilt, smaller than that car but had close to the same roof. One of the first things i did was add roof support and it was a good thing, i've rolled it twice and walked away from both without a problem.

3. Collapse Details
    Oh, what the hell? I don't see the problem. It provides shade doesn't it?

4. Collapse Details