Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    notching?????????
    im fairly new to the whole metal work scene, have done some notches for MIG welded joints but this time my friend is going to tig my frame (nice braging rights) is there a step by step way of making perfect notches? I have 90* figured out with a notcher but when you change to compound angles or angles other then 90* i just dont want to ruin a bunch of pipe. Im prepared to spend a couple hundred on a notcher but just looking for some diagrams.

2. Collapse Details
    Re: notching?????????
    Moose, My suggestion would be to get a magnetic angle finder and that will help determine the angle you want to duplicate. Using the notcher it will have a degree scale on it. Match the degree from the angle finder to the degree on the notcher and should come out perfect. If I'm goimg to make notches on both ends I like to draw a line down the length of the tube because this helps establish a common orientation point. I ruined alot of tubing before I tried this. Good luck with your project. Doc

3. Collapse Details
    Is there a decent notcher someone would recommend that won't break the bank ? -- NOT something from harbor frieght - summit racing has a few I was looking at but would like to hear some suggestions -
    I have a drill press but but I'm thinking a notcher would be a good investment. Any suggestions would be appreciated, sorry about cutting in on this thread. Thanks .

4. Collapse Details
    Whats the bank?
    "Speed is time-time is speed"-Dennis Hopper

Quote Originally Posted by TALON View Post
    did you use a special bigfoot camera or something ,you know all blurry could be a tree stump kinda thing .

5. Collapse Details