Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Tube bending article
    As a newbie I have tons of questions about bending and a lot of the guys looking for information probably do to. Pirate 4x4 has a lot of good technical articles and found the bending articles to be very informative so I thought it would be a good idea to post a link for the new guys. It is related to fabricating a roll bar, but the principles are the same.

Pirate4x4.Com - Tube Bending Article
    Last edited by K-fab; 11-09-2009 at 06:09 PM. Reason: expanding the link's explanation and making this a sticky.

2. Collapse Details
    Re: Tube bending article
    Scottsdale, AZ. 10.9 miles from the trailheads
    Excellent article!

3. Collapse Details
    Thanks for the link very helpful

4. Collapse Details

5. Collapse Details
    Quote Originally Posted by manco12 View Post
    The answer is YES! It WILL bend tubing.

Now if you had asked will this bender makes good bends in tube then the answer is NO!

Its made for pipe. The dies are the diameter of pipe which is different than tubing. Tubing will kink in it most of the time unless you do a bunch of things like...

Some have made it work by modifiy the bending shoes and filling the tube they are bending with sand but its a LOT of extra work and the results are still usually not optimal.

You can buy lots better benders for a bit more but the ease of use alone makes them a bargin compared to these.

Also if you only plan to build a buggy or two you can likely have the bends done at a local race car or fabrication shop for less than the cost of this bender. Nice bends on a goooooood bender.
    Now that NOBAMA has PROVEN he is the absolute WORST president in the history of history Jimmy Carter can thank him for stealing the dunce crown.

Lets hope the next guy repeals NObama care along with the rest of the stupid crap this blight on our windshield has done.

6. Collapse Details