Page 1 of 21 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    MBN Gathering - Glamis President's Day Week 2015
    Scottsdale, AZ. 10.9 miles from the trailheads
    We've all talked about this, so lets make it happen. We have 10 months to plan, so we should be able to dial it in over the next three seasons.

First let's decide on the dates. We can go the week before and through President's Day (Saturday Feb 7 through Monday Feb 16) or Prez day weekend on through the following Sunday (Sat Feb 14 through Sunday Feb 22)

If you've never been to Glamis, you owe it to yourself. Especially you guys that live east of New Mexico, Colorado, etc..

This place really is what you hear - endless sand, 300' tall dunes (yes, I know there are taller ones, but these are the most fun that I've encountered), miles of fun.

One of the best times to be there is the week before President's day. My group of rag tag desert-rat-wannabes and I have been heading there for 12 of the past 14 years. We generally try to make it around this week, having arrived both on the Prez Day weekend and also arriving the weekend before.

Advantage of arriving the week before is that you have the dunes to yourself, for the most part. Everyone else (regulars, locals, if you will) are planning for the Prez day weekend. The dunes are generally well groomed and not chewed up the week before.

You can generally get a premo parking selection by showing up early. We always stake out the cup-de-sac at Gecko, about 2.5 miles from the entry at the Cahuilla Ranger's Station off CA78.

It's up higher than most of the Gecko camp ground and it's more or less on the outside of the madness that will envelope the area during the weekend. It gives you a front row to the dunes, so you don't have to fight the crowd to get out and ride and it has a asphalt apron that you can park and camp on too.

Camping is pretty primitive - there are crappers and you generally want to be up-wind of the little concrete boxes.