Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 29 of 29
  1. Collapse Details
    #21
    Protodie Master and Vendor ProtoDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    S.W. Michigan
    Posts
    2,717
    Default
    Not a problem, you could swing out most anytime. My machine shop and office are right on my property, so I am just about always here.
    Whenever it works for you, just give me a call and let me know.
    My phone # and a google map can be found at www.protodie.com

    later
    Jody
    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ponderay Idaho
    Posts
    771
    Default
    Proto did you do the splining yourself on the shafts and hubs etc?
    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #23
    Protodie Master and Vendor ProtoDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    S.W. Michigan
    Posts
    2,717
    Default
    Nope, I bought the splined hubs and shaft from G&G and then machined them to suit.

    www.ggmfg.com

    They were around $8 apc for the hubs , and $30-40ish for a fully splined 12" shaft for the center drive. I used partially splined for the stub axles, not sure, maybe $20ish apc. I turned up all the flange mounts and then welded them to the hubs.
    Total of 5 hubs for 1 brake rotor, 2 flanges, and 2 wheel hubs. 2 stub axles and 1 drive axle.
    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #24
    Super Moderator rowycoracing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,540
    Default
    Kwik, just FYI... I did spline a couple of shafts. I did it for two reasons, one was to upgrade metalurgy but mainly I really wanted to see if my little 3 in 1 Grizzly combo mill/lathe was up to the task. It came out OK but took a long time on the cheapo equipment. I had to end mill the shafts first, then cut them again with a double side mill set up. Like Proto said the ag shafting is readily available and cheap and that is also what I have used before. Tim
    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ponderay Idaho
    Posts
    771
    Default
    Thanks guys
    I am probably just being dense but am I following right.... you buy the splined shaft, and then a splined weld a hub like what is shown in pic DSC03049.JPG on the left. Then you weld whatever you need to that... ie sprocket flange, or drive flange? The sprocket flange and drive flanges you made from scratch?

    The splined hub is held in place with a set screw or?

    I keep debating about going to a cassette type of setup. Unfortunately I don't think the center axle I have now could be used if I do. It would have to be shortened and the splines don't go far enough. But the prices of this stuff sound reasonable enough it doesn't matter too much. I don't remember off hand how many spline the shaft I have is, but it would be nice to use the hubs i have if I could. I wonder if this is where ShortSand cars gets his axle stuff?

    Food for thought. I may have to pm one of you guys when I get ready to start working on the back half.
    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Winder Georgia
    Posts
    7,960
    Default
    i think you got 091 spline that gear ones sells,
    and i paid 27 for a fully splined 1 3/8 21 spline shaft, came right from your neck of the woods....
    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #27
    Protodie Master and Vendor ProtoDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    S.W. Michigan
    Posts
    2,717
    Default
    Yup, you got it right. I left the brake rotor, free floating so it will self-center. The flanges are bolted on, I machined the length of the center shaft to where it is .020" longer than the width of the bearings, for a small amount of float. So, no set screws at all, it makes for a real solid unit when bolted together.
    See pic
    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    Fan
    #28
    Super Moderator rowycoracing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,540
    Default
    Hey Proto I saw in a post over on Bikelomen's thread that you said that you replaced your radiator fan with a larger one. Did you end up having cooling issues with the stock fan? Just curious as I have the same engine, radiator and fan... Tim
    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #29
    Protodie Master and Vendor ProtoDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    S.W. Michigan
    Posts
    2,717
    Default
    No, I did not have any cooling issues, the 2003 stock one worked just fine.
    This new one does move alot more air though, and it was just a perfect fit and I think it looks just a touch better.
    It was around $20 on a Ebay store.
    I lost the link to it, so just do a search if you are interested.

    I just raced today, 80 degrees out and running the motor as hard as you can for 16 laps (around 7 miles) , temp when I got off the track was around 220.
    Reply With Quote
     

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •