Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. Collapse Details
    Has anyone used a 12v electric actuator to shift a Jeffco box between F & R
    #1
    Default
    I have limited room for a forward/reverse shifter for my Jeffco box especially if I add a cutting brake. I want to know if anyone has tried a 12v actuator with a switch and how did it work out?
    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    Re: Has anyone used a 12v electric actuator to shift a Jeffco box between F & R
    #2
    Default
    Nobody? I think I am going to try it.
    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    Re: Has anyone used a 12v electric actuator to shift a Jeffco box between F & R
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Norco, CA
    Posts
    362
    Default
    Excuse my ignorance, but does the Jeffco FNR have a diff?
    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    Re: Has anyone used a 12v electric actuator to shift a Jeffco box between F & R
    #4
    Default
    Yes
    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    Re: Has anyone used a 12v electric actuator to shift a Jeffco box between F & R
    #5
    Millenium Member nutz4sand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Petoskey, Michigan
    Posts
    6,220
    Default
    The ones I have seen are kinda slow and the only way to tell its in gear is to apply power since you would not feel it shift in by hand.

    Without seeing your setup cannot think of other ways but how hard would it be to fab a linkage?
    Now that NOBAMA has PROVEN he is the absolute WORST president in the history of history Jimmy Carter can thank him for stealing the dunce crown.

    Lets hope the next guy repeals NObama care along with the rest of the stupid crap this blight on our windshield has done.
    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    Re: Has anyone used a 12v electric actuator to shift a Jeffco box between F & R
    #6
    Default
    the linkage for the actuator? I was going to mount the actuator to the passenger side of the Box. I just talked to Shawn and he said I would have to limit it so that when its in foward it's not pushing all the way because It need an 1/8th inch of play from all the was in forward. I thought I could do that with a limit switch. I have to get my seats and stuff back in to see what room I have but it is limited on both sides of the seat plus I want to add a cutting brake. If I have room I may just use a morse cable.
    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Re: Has anyone used a 12v electric actuator to shift a Jeffco box between F & R
    #7
    Senior Member whitedragon64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    356
    Default
    Hi hermie if you were to fit up an actuator i would make it so its sprung loaded
    This way it can select gear in its own time if ya get my drift
    will try and get a pic of what im on about !
    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    Re: Has anyone used a 12v electric actuator to shift a Jeffco box between F & R
    #8
    Default
    I understand what you mean, but when I talked to Shawn at Jeffco he said it can't be forced full throw or have pressure on it at full throw. It needs to sit at 1/8 inch back from full. He even said sometimes people's morse cable will break and they will attach a bungee cord to the lever to hold it in forward and that will cause it to burn the needle bearings up.
    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    Re: Has anyone used a 12v electric actuator to shift a Jeffco box between F & R
    #9
    Default
    Sounds like a ball detent on the shift shaft would be an improvement. I know that is how the Ford Toploader locates the shifter forks.
    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    Re: Has anyone used a 12v electric actuator to shift a Jeffco box between F & R
    #10
    Senior Member whitedragon64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    356
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by hermie View Post
    I understand what you mean, but when I talked to Shawn at Jeffco he said it can't be forced full throw or have pressure on it at full throw. It needs to sit at 1/8 inch back from full. He even said sometimes people's morse cable will break and they will attach a bungee cord to the lever to hold it in forward and that will cause it to burn the needle bearings up.
    What im talking about wont load the linkage as long as you set the actuator to stop where its needed , The spring set up has 2 compression springs in it 1 for forward and one for rev I cant upload a pic at the moment ,
    Ok so picture an air cyl and the piston is centered then a spring is placed either side of the piston creating a neutral position , Then as the body connected to you actuator moves forward if there is any resistance from the linkage from not meshing then the spring will take the force until mesh engages
    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Operation Anxiety Actuator
    By Brody in forum Projects in Progress
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 01-05-2015, 09:09 PM
  2. shift linkage
    By TALON in forum Controls and electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-02-2013, 11:19 AM
  3. Linear actuator
    By Cletis in forum Controls and electrical
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-13-2012, 06:11 PM
  4. Electric Buggy for Electric Wheelchair
    By Tinodesis in forum Show off your toys in here!
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-06-2010, 08:58 PM
  5. Shift Linkage???
    By doublej in forum Driveline
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-08-2009, 12:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •