Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31
  1. Collapse Details
    Re: Sprocket bolts coming loose ...
    #21
    Senior Member Gotted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Clarkston WA.
    Posts
    699
    Default
    I don't think if you tapped the sprocket that would help it wont tighten the sprocket to its hub. It would need a locknut on the outside of the hub to lock the bolt but you cant do that, got no room.
    It sounds like the holes in the sprocket are a size to big. A bigger bolt with more thread surface (with more clamping load) and the hole size in the sprocket as close to the bolt size as possible that will give it a less chance for movement. The Nord-Locks won't fail then.

    I see you edited out the tapping of the sprocket on post #20
    Last edited by Gotted; 02-28-2012 at 10:46 AM. Reason: add more
    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    Re: Sprocket bolts coming loose ...
    #22
    The Wizard bdkw1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Easton, KS
    Posts
    4,377
    Default
    If the Nordlocks and allens failed, you need more clamping load (bigger bolt) or a larger bolt circle. Any pictures of the set-up?
    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    Re: Sprocket bolts coming loose ...
    #23
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Gotted View Post
    I see you edited out the tapping of the sprocket on post #20
    I did edit as more I thought about it I dont know if I could line up the tap/tread of the sprocket and the flange.

    I think you might be onto something though. Am fairly sure I did notice that the sprocket bolt hole size seemed a bit big. Dont know why this did not throw up more of a red flag. I think Weller makes this kit for the Yamaha R1 in a Rhino normally and as far as I know this sprocket is also part of the standard kit but maybe there was an oversight and a Hayabusa or other sprocket was used for my Hayabusa in a RZR application and perhaps a size bigger. I also thought it was interesting it uses standard bolt size rather than metric so perhaps this is also the difference. Will need to investigate. Thanks!
    Last edited by twvette; 03-03-2012 at 07:07 PM.
    RZR with Honda RC51 SP2 transplant
    RZR with Hayabusa transplant
    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    Re: Sprocket bolts coming loose ...
    #24
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by bdkw1 View Post
    If the Nordlocks and allens failed, you need more clamping load (bigger bolt) or a larger bolt circle. Any pictures of the set-up?
    Here are pics:

    Switched to standard bolt heads instead of allen head for some more contact area (I think) plus easier to torque down.




    Bolts can be seen on backside coming out about flush with back of flange. There is not a whole lot of threads the bolt actually is held in so sure that does not help.

    No room to put a backing nut as would hit housing when it roatates.
    Last edited by twvette; 03-03-2012 at 07:09 PM.
    RZR with Honda RC51 SP2 transplant
    RZR with Hayabusa transplant
    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    Re: Sprocket bolts coming loose ...
    #25
    The Bob Ross of MBN Bullnerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Cream Ridge ,NJ
    Posts
    8,991
    Default
    Are the holes in the sprocket countersunk?

    All my dirt bike sprockets were always countersunk,well hondas anyway.

    Never came loose.

    If the bolts are too small for the holes,that doesnt sound good either.
    "Speed is time-time is speed"-Dennis Hopper

    Quote Originally Posted by TALON View Post
    did you use a special bigfoot camera or something ,you know all blurry could be a tree stump kinda thing .
    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    Re: Sprocket bolts coming loose ...
    #26
    Senior Member Gotted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Clarkston WA.
    Posts
    699
    Default
    My R1 sprocket looks like this. Yes you should retap the threaded holes for a bigger bolt. Don't give the sprocket any chance for movement.
    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Re: Sprocket bolts coming loose ...
    #27
    The Wizard bdkw1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Easton, KS
    Posts
    4,377
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by twvette View Post
    Switched to standard bolt heads instead of allen head for some more contact area (I think) plus easier to torque down.
    Allens have a higher torque rating and higher clamping load. Looks like you have enough room to run longer bolts a throw a top lock nut on the backside.
    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    Re: Sprocket bolts coming loose ...
    #28
    Senior Member Gotted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Clarkston WA.
    Posts
    699
    Default
    He says that he doesn't have any room for a longer bolt with a lock nut.

    (post#4)
    Bolt goes through sprocket into about a 1/2in thick circular flange on the carrier. When you rotate the carrier to tighten the chain it moves the flange in like a diagonal direction so these bolts ends would hit the main carrier housing on back side when rotating so thus cant put a nut on the other side.

    The safty wire is a good idea but would have to track down bolts with holes in them or figure out how to do this ... maybe some sort of snap ring like bracket to fit over the bolt heads to hold them but thats a stretch. Wish the threads were reverse thread but still not sure if they would loosen due to vibration, etc. Tha tis part of the mystery ... dont really know why they are loosening so easy. Seems aligned very well. I might have some slight chain rubbing as very tight clearances but dont know if this explains it either.
    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    Re: Sprocket bolts coming loose ...
    #29
    Default
    My sprocket holes are not counter sunk in any way ... straight through hole. Season is about over and will change sprockets so will look at going this route too if any options to do so. Thanks!
    Last edited by twvette; 03-04-2012 at 01:05 PM.
    RZR with Honda RC51 SP2 transplant
    RZR with Hayabusa transplant
    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    Re: Sprocket bolts coming loose ...
    #30
    Senior Member Gotted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Clarkston WA.
    Posts
    699
    Default
    You can have another sprocket made that will have counter sunk holes for the bolt size of the hub.

    Send your old sprocket with one bolt that fits the hub to Doug Heim and he will make you the sprocket that should of been on it in the first place.

    He made the sprocket that is on my buggy. post #26.


    MiniBuggy.Net: The Ultimate Off-Road Buggy Community - View Profile: Doug Heim
    Last edited by Gotted; 03-05-2012 at 10:54 PM. Reason: not enough words
    Reply With Quote
     

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. sprocket spinning?
    By banditbuggy145 in forum Driveline
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 12:09 PM
  2. The Chain
    By Gotted in forum Driveline
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-08-2009, 11:40 PM
  3. pilot engine bolts loose
    By LEE1969GB in forum Honda's Pilot & Odyssey
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-28-2008, 04:49 PM
  4. RPM sprocket mounting
    By SeufererMotorsports in forum Driveline
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-24-2007, 10:14 PM
  5. Sprocket sizes...
    By yoshi in forum MiniBuggy.net Lounge!
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-22-2006, 08:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •