Thread: Driveline info

1. Collapse Details
    Driveline info
    Im a mechanic a fabricator and a machinists, but im new to offroading and im brand new to minibuggies, and ive got an isane amount of questions. I see alot of question and answers on here, but i dont want to sit around asking you guys that know all the time, and im wondering if theres anywhere i can find some good info or if someone can point me in the right direction with a couple of things. See im building a GSX 600 2 seater and ive got a more than a few problems to work out.

- What kind of axles do most builders run?
    - What kind of travel do different axles allow for and what do i do about axles for extreme travel? (like 14-16 in)
    - I was planning on using a center rear shaft mounted to the frame in large bearings (i work in a few factories, can get wild bearings and brackets cheap) Is that rediculous? or a good plan? who can i get to make shafts? and is there anywhere i can get CV shafts with a female reciever like those for subaru's which would allow for male ends on the center shaft

- Does anyone know a simple reliable way to build a revrese gearbox/reducer spool, i have no need for a diff, especially if it costs me 3k (like quaffi). I can fabricatre well, i have a pretty nice knee mill, access to CNC laser cutting and im a good welder, just unsure of the acctual mechenism for switching to reverse

- Im trying to reduce the top speed as much as possible, being that the trans tops out at 210 with the 16/45 setup that comes stock on the bike, does anyone know of a good top speed calculator i could use, i know ive seen them for bikes before

If i just said a whole bunch of newby BS please dont flame me, im just looking for some help, or really some places i can read up and help myself, too many questions to ask everything on here

2. Collapse Details
    Re: Driveline info