Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. Collapse Details
    Re: rad fan switch sensor
    #11
    Default
    No there is a single wire unit that acts as a ground and a two wire unit that acts as a switch. With the single wire acting as a ground you have to deal with electrolysis.
    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    Re: rad fan switch sensor
    #12
    Super Moderator minibajaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,841
    Default
    Ok, so the even the simple one linked above has two wires, one for ground and one for power, so it should be ok then?

    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    Re: rad fan switch sensor
    #13
    Default
    Thats a good unit because you can run the ground wire from the fan to one side coming in then run the other side to a ground on the chassis. That way your cooling system wont have electrolysis problems. Run a positive from the ign switch to a relay and the hot from the switched on relay to the fan.
    Last edited by MC@ Performance Fab; 09-13-2011 at 10:11 PM.
    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    Re: rad fan switch sensor
    #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    East TX
    Posts
    124
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by MC@ Performance Fab View Post
    Thats a good unit because you can run the ground wire from the fan to one side coming in then run the other side to a ground on the chassis. That way your cooling system wont have electrolysis problems. Run a positive from the ign switch to a relay and the hot from the switched on relay to the fan.
    I know nothing about the electrical stuff so forgive me if this is a stupid question. But could I do it exactly the way described above but instead of a relay use a simple toggle switch? I know how to wire it with a toggle switch, but when you start throwing in relays...
    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    Re: rad fan switch sensor
    #15
    Millenium Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    2,570
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by wikisi View Post
    I know nothing about the electrical stuff so forgive me if this is a stupid question. But could I do it exactly the way described above but instead of a relay use a simple toggle switch? I know how to wire it with a toggle switch, but when you start throwing in relays...
    The problem with these sensors is they cant carry the full Amp load, so you really really need to use a relay. Especially the startup. They'll burn up pretty quick.
    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    Re: rad fan switch sensor
    #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    East TX
    Posts
    124
    Default
    Hmm. I don't suppose you(or anyone who has time and knows how to wire it like that) could provide a quick sketch of how to wire it? If not, no worries.
    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Re: rad fan switch sensor
    #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    East TX
    Posts
    124
    Default
    Reply With Quote
     

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Ignition Switch Bypass
    By azmsp84 in forum Controls and electrical
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-08-2015, 06:19 PM
  2. Kawasaki ZX14 Wiring / Sensor Bypassing
    By standfast in forum Controls and electrical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-10-2015, 01:34 AM
  3. Bypass engine stop switch?
    By andy777bmx in forum Controls and electrical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-28-2009, 09:06 PM
  4. Hayabusa tip over sensor and some fueling questions too!
    By turboDS1300 in forum Controls and electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-08-2008, 09:02 PM
  5. Hayabusa temp switch not closing to bring fan on???
    By bngcustoms in forum Controls and electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-26-2007, 11:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •