Thread: Megalodon

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Megalodon
    starting to weld my tube together. Was wondering if anyone has found a cheaper reverse gear box anywhere other than jeffcoperformance. There wanting 3950.00 for the box. Also GSXR 1000 or V-twin this is my first build would love feed back.
    Thanks

2. Collapse Details
    Re: Megalodon
    Baja Tex has two Honda RC51 V-twins in the for sale section here with everything ready to go. For a desert style car they would be a great motor.

3. Collapse Details
    Millenium Member
    The RPM box is cheaper by $1k. Live rearend, no diff.

4. Collapse Details
    Yoshi has an inline reverser for about a grand might work for you he had put one in a Busa powered smart car.

5. Collapse Details
    Thnks for the replies and the info. New here but hope to be putting pics up soon. How do you ad pics to this site.

6. Collapse Details
    Some people including myself have had a difficult time posting pictures.

Check out the RC51 motors

Just my 2 cents, if your going to take your time to build yourself a personal buggy don't go with a live rear end unless all you plan to do is drag race in a straight line. It's going to be hard to get the car to turn. It's just going to make the front end plow in corners.

It's inarguable that a limited slip differential is the better for cornering then a live axle.You can still put the power to the ground solidly and the car will go around a corner better without pushing the front end forcing understeer.

Again just my 2 cents and what I have learned from experience. But that's what I'd do. I'm sure many will disagree for some reason.

7. Collapse Details
    Protodie Master and Vendor ProtoDie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nofearmxer View Post
    Some people including myself have had a difficult time posting pictures.

Check out the RC51 motors