PDA

View Full Version : Throttle Cable



TxBandit
01-24-2007, 07:12 PM
I've got an '05 GSXR 600 engine and I don't have the stock throttle cable. *I know a lot of guys are using push pull cables. *Where would I find one that'd work with this particular engine?

Troy

Rorty
01-24-2007, 08:13 PM
Troy, the only obligatory parts of the cable required are the nipple that fit's the throttle lever on your engine and the adjuster on the engine end of the cable conduit, after that you can use whatever suits your pedal etc. On your engine, measure the distance from the centre of where the nipple should be and the conduit adjuster bracket that holds the conduit. Take the same measurements at the pedal end.

Get a length of electrical cable or plastic coated washing line (or anything that's similar in size and flexibility to the throttle cable) and lay it out in your car, from the throttle lever to the accelerator pedal as you would with an actual cable. Cut it to length.

If you can, get hold of an old cable that suits your engine and take it plus your cut length of washing line to a good bike shop and ask them to make up a cable to that length with the same ends as your bike's cable on one end and whatever fittings you need to suit your pedal and conduit adjuster on the other end. Don't forget to subtract the two measurements to get the length of the conduit correct.

matchew
01-24-2007, 08:46 PM
Rorty, are you talking about a bicycle shop for that cable?

Rorty
01-24-2007, 10:03 PM
Yeah, I'm not sure about the US, but most bicycle shops here and in the UK carry all the stuff for making up bicycle brake cables which are the same weight as our throttle cables. Just make sure you get good quality stainless cable and Teflon-lined conduit and it will be virtually maintenance free and last a lifetime.

KWiKSand
01-24-2007, 10:23 PM
I was thinking of getting some of this when the time came. *I think it was Rowycoracing that said he used it originally.

Rorty
01-24-2007, 11:08 PM
Here are a few US companies I've dealt with in the past that provide custom-made cables, fittings and raw materials etc.:
[url=http://www.controlcables.com/:1whxfsb3]Control Cables[/url:1whxfsb3]
[url=http://www.goodvibesracing.com/Control%20Cables.htm:1whxfsb3]Good Vibes[/url:1whxfsb3]
[url=http://www.push-pull.com/:1whxfsb3]Push-Pull[/url:1whxfsb3]
[url=http://www.uflexusa.com/start.html:1whxfsb3]Uflex[/url:1whxfsb3]

K-fab
01-25-2007, 06:39 AM
Morse Cable are another option. *I don't have a link to them, though.

Morse offers a cable similar to the one most of us are using for shifting, but has flexible ends that will follow the cam on the actuator.

KWiKSand
01-25-2007, 10:42 AM
Hmmm I thought I had added a link to my post *[smilie=banghead.gif] *Not sure what happened, but hopefully [url=http://www.gokartgalaxy.com/throttle_cable_&_fittings.htm:fpj87o50]here it is[/url:fpj87o50]

TxBandit
01-25-2007, 08:25 PM
Thanks guys!!! *This will help a lot.

Troy

ultraman
01-25-2007, 08:31 PM
I used a morse cable, and joined it to my stock throttle cable with a custom made connector. Works good. [smilie=biggrin.gif]

Gene
01-25-2007, 09:43 PM
^^^^ What he said.

My local speedometer shop can perform such a marriage. I'll have a spare made too.

Ultra - what about return spring. Is there enough between throttle body and gas pedal to push/pull?

Picture?

ultraman
01-25-2007, 10:09 PM
Gene, besides the throttle body springs in the carbs, i have dual return springs on the foot peddle. [smilie=biggrin.gif]