PDA

View Full Version : Brake master cylinder ?'s

lyinlow
12-19-2006, 12:01 AM
just curious if anyone has used a rear caliper off of a bike and then used a master cylinder off a car?

reason i ask is i have a suzuki swift master cylinder and pedal assembly in the buggy and i want to use a motorcylce caliper.. you guys think this idea will work out for me? im thinkin ill just have to get a adapter to go fromt eh steel car line to the flex line of the caliper as it has the banjo fitting on it

any thoughts?
Trevor

Rorty
12-19-2006, 12:32 AM
Yes, use a 3/4" MC and a pedal ratio of around 6:1.

lyinlow
01-28-2007, 04:19 PM
might be a dumb ? but what do you mean use a 3/4" MC * *and also how do i set up a 6:1 ratio???

thanks in advance!

Trevor

KWiKSand
01-28-2007, 04:30 PM
3/4" MC = 3/4" diameter cylinder Master Cylinder

1:6 ratio on the pedal would be 1" of pedal length on one side of the pivot bolt and 6" on the other side of it, or some ratio equivalent to that.

masterfabr
01-28-2007, 05:22 PM
No such thing as a dumb question unless *you've already screwed up and didn't ask first. [smilie=biggrin.gif]

plkracer
01-28-2007, 05:30 PM
Another question, but the same thing, not trying to hijack. What if I'm using 3 motorcycle calipers on one master cylinder? Maybe go to a larger master cylinder than 3/4? Thanks.

renegadespec1
01-28-2007, 05:32 PM
Lyinlow,
I used a Geo Master cylender in the Wife's buggy I don't know how great this one works, but have used car masters in the past with no problems... They tend to have a really tight pedal feel because they push a lot of fluid compared to the small amount that the smaller bugggy calipers take to be actuated...Hope this helps you out ...BTW the local auto parts store can hook you up with the fittings and hard line...There was a thread awhile ago on using plastic line but I can't tell you the name of the thread... [smilie=drool.gif]

masterfabr
01-28-2007, 05:39 PM