PDA

View Full Version : Throttle linkage Questions



westexgt
09-14-2006, 09:05 AM
I am fabbing up my throttle linkage, and I know I can do it my way, but I would love to see how some of you guys did yours. I know I can make something work, but would love to hear and see some opinions on what is going to work for a long time.

Kevin

ProtoDie
09-14-2006, 03:06 PM
I used a heavy push pull cable. Fixed to the frame up by the pedal. the cable is not attached in the pic.
On the other end I have a coupler bracket and then made a coupler to hook up to the stock bike cable and added a large return spring.
The bike throttle cable is also not shown.

On the pedal assembly I have an adjustable bolt/ stop, so when I stomp on the throttle, I can not over pull on the cable. This also lets me adjust pedal placement for comfort and tune the cable at other junctions.

It is 1/4" push pull cable, so it will take alot of abuse, but I still like a hard stop.

K-fab
09-16-2006, 06:13 AM
The Morse cable like Proto shows is the way to go. You don't need a 1/4" cable, though... .125" works fine.

If you're running a carb set off of a bike and it has the cam actuator that the cable runs over, you can get a Morse cable with a flexible end instead of the rod end like in the pix above. Makes for a very nice, tidy install.

Sorry, I don't know where to get the cable - I get mine through [url=http://www.atvracing1.com:162473ak]ATV Racing.[/url:162473ak]

If you decide to run a regular control cable (like you'd find on a motocross bike clutch or throttle cable), make sure you use teflon lined tubing. You should be able to order it in bulk from someone like Rocky Mountain or Dennis Kirk.

Make sure you solder the ends and don't just crip or use those silly little clamp thingys. You need something that can't slip.

bdkw1
09-16-2006, 11:18 AM
The yellow bible has some http://www.mcmaster.com/

Page 1084 . There site is a real pain to direct link too.

rowycoracing
09-16-2006, 11:24 AM
Another option ... I bought a piece of Wescon teflon lined cable conduit and then made my own cable ends. It's cheap and easy and the slick lined conduit works good.

Rorty
09-17-2006, 01:30 AM
Definitely Teflon lined conduit, and use stainless multi-strand cable. A good cable supplier or bike shop should be able to sell you cable and conduit and various cable ends too.

http://www.rorty-design.com/images/cabl ... onduit.jpg (http://www.rorty-design.com/images/cable&conduit.jpg)

http://www.rorty-design.com/images/cable_nipples.jpg

http://www.rorty-design.com/images/cable_balljoint.gif