PDA

View Full Version : HELP! laser shops can't cut these parts? no ones home at BL



mx450rider
06-25-2015, 11:05 AM
Has anyone else had a laser cutting shop tell them the drawings from badland won't work with their machine the way they are?? I have had 2 shops tell me they need to redraw the files, and it's starting to get old how Bruce hasn't called me back the last 3 months of leaving messages on his phone and email...[smilie=bs_help.gif]:confused:

ProtoDie
06-25-2015, 11:23 AM
yes this can be common if the cad files were drawn sloppy.

there are probably overlapping lines and segments, duplicate lines etc.
The shops would need to clean up the files and fix the problems before they can program and cut to the cad file.

I double check all our files before sending to the laser shop for this.

mx450rider
06-25-2015, 11:46 AM
I wish I would at least get a response of ANY kind about the problem over the last 3 months, but I don't even get a returned call or email saying go take a walk. I have no clue how you can have a business like this and not get back to people! I mean 3 months of calling and messaging, and today when the shop said no can do unless I get charged a re engineering fee (second time hearing this) I about exploded!!

Up north
06-25-2015, 12:26 PM
I work for a welding shop and I just cut all the 3/16" parts for a guy building an st4 and it was a pain. The files and renditions would not lay out. Ended up placing the parts manually for better use of materials which took a couple hours. So maybe they just don't want to deal with it??

dunerocket
06-25-2015, 01:23 PM
Do you have dimensioned drawings in PDF format or just CAD files? I'm sure someone here could help you clean them up. Not sure how complex they are, but sometimes it is faster to just re-draw them. Let us know what you have.

DMoneyAllstar
06-25-2015, 03:07 PM
I may be able to help you out with CAD files. I work with Pro/Engineer, more currently known as Creo, pretty high-end system. I can create the DXF files you need, and even models. If interested, snd me a message at danauxter2@yahoo.com and include a sample file (one they say won't work).

-D$

thenxtEMIG
06-25-2015, 03:14 PM
Up north, who do you work for? I'm in Minneapolis and may need some stuff cut for my buggy.

rgvkid
06-25-2015, 04:22 PM
Mx, yep it can take longer and be more tedious to fix a file then to cut it.
What format is the file in? Is it DXF.?

I'm sure there's someone on here that may have built a badlands and may have already cleaned up the files.

Hambam
06-25-2015, 10:33 PM
One way I have done it is to put it into solid works as a sketch, extrude the sketch, then save the dxf of the face of the extrusion. Often solidworks won't let you do it, but when it does it saves a lot of effort. Not sure if that helps anyone

mx450rider
06-26-2015, 02:09 AM
Hey everyone I took it upon myself to re draw the parts in autocad 2008 , and sure enough the laser shop said mine will work A-okay! They aren't being lazy about it, they just said they'd have to re-draw them and their in business to make money so they would have to charge to re draw them. So far I've only re drawn the front spindle pieces, but plan on doing all the little tabs, rear spindles, wheel hub plates, and maybe the firewall and skid plates. Bruce finally called me back later this afternoon thinking the laser shop's software was outdated, so he sent me the dxf files in autocad version 2000, so we'll see if those work better for the laser shop. However, I'm not counting on it since my 2008 autocad re-drawn files worked with their software. I'll keep everyone updated, and if someone is really good with autocad (I am decent, but very slow at it), they should redo all the files so other people don't have this very annoying problem!

JGSturbo
06-26-2015, 03:17 AM
In autocad- try selecting one line and run _pedit , turn into poly line then join and select the entire shape (don't worry about extra non-connected stuff).
It'll either join it all and close it or you will see the gaps.
I wish ACAD had a function like my gibbscam - on import you can autoconnect with in a certain range (ie 0.025" for example).

SamR
06-26-2015, 05:54 PM
In autocad- try selecting one line and run _pedit , turn into poly line then join and select the entire shape (don't worry about extra non-connected stuff).
It'll either join it all and close it or you will see the gaps.
I wish ACAD had a function like my gibbscam - on import you can autoconnect with in a certain range (ie 0.025" for example).

Yep, converting to polylines should help sort out any errors. We had a table at school that for whatever reason wouldn't set the leadin/outs properly with plines, so I would convert everything to check the loop then explode them after.

Also try running the command OVERKILL. It'll merge any overlapping lines into one, that is often a problem that comes up.

flyerrider
06-26-2015, 08:37 PM
Try the command OVERKILL. It will remove any duplicate lines. Chances are this is what is annoying the laser cutters. I would find it hard to believe that there are a bunch of endpoints that are not correct.

edit: Whoops, looks like I should read the previous posts completely. Sam nailed it...

mx450rider
07-02-2015, 07:10 PM
UPDATE: I re drew the parts and sent them to my buddy to get laser cut and they worked no problem! Don't know why his files don't work, but I finally picked up the spindle pieces I've been desperately needing! Laser cut parts make my plasma cut parts look like junk! Anywho, I would post pictures, but for some reason even after I resize them in paint they won't upload? I'll try to get time to make an imageshack account.

chriswayg
11-10-2015, 04:34 AM
After reading this thread, I'm having second thoughts about buying plans from Badland. I was considering to buy the ST4 plans. Are there problems with the ST4 files for laser cutting or does this concern another model only?

Would you suggest an alternative for a two seater buggy plan or is the ST4 still a good choice?

Chris

K-fab
11-10-2015, 09:40 PM
Look into some of the Rorty models.

Glamisman
11-11-2015, 01:35 AM
I just had my ST4 parts water jetted and they did not mention any issue with the files. Cost around $1k for all the parts plus material of apx $400. It aint cheap but all of the parts fit together like a jigsaw puzzle. I did have to run a flat file over the slots one or 2 times and the same goes for a round file on the round holes.

chriswayg
11-13-2015, 03:25 AM
Thanks for your replies, Glamisman and K-fab!


I just had my ST4 parts water jetted and they did not mention any issue with the files. Cost around $1k for all the parts plus material of apx $400. It aint cheap but all of the parts fit together like a jigsaw puzzle.
That sounds quite encouraging in regards to the ST4, except for the higher than expected price. $1400 would be a big chunk of the overall budget.


Look into some of the Rorty models.
Yes, the Rorty models look really good, too. Are they more difficult to build? The R16 has a reasonably priced laser cut kit. The R82 looks like a suitable design for a two seater, somewhat similar to the ST4. I'm planning to use a small car engine for the buggy due to non-availability of suitable motorcycle engines in this country.

The Rorty's rear suspensions look more complex and harder to adapt to a lengthened rear section. In your estimation, would it be more difficult to fit a car engine into a R16/R82 than into an ST4?

K-fab
11-14-2015, 08:55 AM
Yes, the Rorty models look really good, too. Are they more difficult to build? The R16 has a reasonably priced laser cut kit. The R82 looks like a suitable design for a two seater, somewhat similar to the ST4. I'm planning to use a small car engine for the buggy due to non-availability of suitable motorcycle engines in this country.

The Rorty's rear suspensions look more complex and harder to adapt to a lengthened rear section. In your estimation, would it be more difficult to fit a car engine into a R16/R82 than into an ST4?I've only seen the ST4 and Rorty cars, never been in one or part of a build. There are quite a few of both on the site - find a more recently updated thread on each and ask these questions there.

It seems that the R cars have more room for something like a car engine - but that's total speculation on my end.