PDA

View Full Version : Badland ST2 custom build from Ireland

Nivek4209
05-13-2013, 06:52 PM
Hi all
My names Kevin I'm 39 mechanic by trade but work in engineering for the last 20 years cars are more a hobby now than anything else
I've had ideas of building a buggy for years now and there was always something more important financially and otherwise ,I've been gathering parts for years as I suspect most of you do
I purchased a 750 gsxr k5 powerplant around 6 years go with just 300 miles on it
Wheels and rims followed soon after
Bucket seat and loads of other useful stuff
I had it in mind to buy plans from edge products but one day recently I found a video from another member here on YouTube about there build and having never heard of an st2 a google search ensued

I liked what I saw and bought the plans for a long travel st2 though mine may end up buying more of a medium travel buggy :)
Bought piping and invested in a pipe bender and off we go

http://i1084.photobucket.com/albums/j405/nivek4209/B3553258-F19A-438E-A1AA-857455065212-1016-0000007955520D27.jpg

Once. All the plans were transferred to my jig board things progressed nicely
Time for me at this is always gonna be an issue I work six days most weeks
Day one saw me this far

http://i1084.photobucket.com/albums/j405/nivek4209/FDAC91CD-FD12-4B7E-A3B5-881BB3917637-936-0000005B40B90798.jpg

Day two was a lot shorter and involved allot of head scratching I didn't like the box section used in he plans to make the base of the frame it seems to me a little agricultural so I decided to go with a full tube frame this straying away from the. Plan hasn't caused me much issue so far
This pic shows the tubular base with engine and. Things fitted for guide only

http://i1084.photobucket.com/albums/j405/nivek4209/photo-74.jpg

Rear drive train is going to have a limited slip diff I made up from a impreza wrx rear LSD