PDA

View Full Version : Megalodon

tonyga
08-22-2012, 07:39 PM
starting to weld my tube together. Was wondering if anyone has found a cheaper reverse gear box anywhere other than jeffcoperformance. There wanting 3950.00 for the box. Also GSXR 1000 or V-twin this is my first build would love feed back.
Thanks

MC@ Performance Fab
08-22-2012, 10:03 PM
Baja Tex has two Honda RC51 V-twins in the for sale section here with everything ready to go. For a desert style car they would be a great motor.

CARLRIDDLE
08-23-2012, 07:33 AM
The RPM box is cheaper by $1k. Live rearend, no diff.

sqweeker
08-23-2012, 02:17 PM
Yoshi has an inline reverser for about a grand might work for you he had put one in a Busa powered smart car.

tonyga
08-23-2012, 05:45 PM
Thnks for the replies and the info. New here but hope to be putting pics up soon. How do you ad pics to this site.

nofearmxer
08-23-2012, 06:29 PM
Some people including myself have had a difficult time posting pictures.

Check out the RC51 motors

Just my 2 cents, if your going to take your time to build yourself a personal buggy don't go with a live rear end unless all you plan to do is drag race in a straight line. It's going to be hard to get the car to turn. It's just going to make the front end plow in corners.

It's inarguable that a limited slip differential is the better for cornering then a live axle.You can still put the power to the ground solidly and the car will go around a corner better without pushing the front end forcing understeer.

Again just my 2 cents and what I have learned from experience. But that's what I'd do. I'm sure many will disagree for some reason.

ProtoDie
08-24-2012, 09:19 AM
Some people including myself have had a difficult time posting pictures.

Check out the RC51 motors