PDA

View Full Version : UAA Mini Baja

uaaminibaja
04-08-2010, 05:56 PM
hello guys, this is my first post. im a student at the univ of alaska anchorage. were currently fabricating our mini baja. we need help with our steering. we got steering rods from polaris and a desertkarts rack and pinion. i either need to replace the eye bolt on the rack and pinion or find a smaller ball joint for the steering rod. one is metric, one is standard. i have looked around town and cant find anything. is there anywhere online that i can order from?

willysp
04-08-2010, 09:52 PM
hi, try with McMaster-Carr (http://www.mcmaster.com) (McMaster-Carr (http://www.mcmaster.com/#rod-end-ball-joints/=6kujcvalso)) and also they have 24 hs customer service...
willy

minibajaman
04-08-2010, 10:46 PM
What vehicle are the tie rods from? Either way I probably wouldn't use them. Just use the outer ball joint if you need it to match your upright, then make your own tie rod. That way the inner joint can be whatever you want. What I have done with the desertkarts rack is make a clevis end for it and then just use a regular rod end on the tie rod. Or you could just weld a clevis on your tie rod, but it won't be as easy to adjust that way. Sorry I couldn't find a good pic but here you can see the tie rod and clevis end for the rack. It slides over the end of the rack and bolts through the center into the hole that the tie rods fits into. It also lengthens the rack to eliminate bumpsteer. This was an old car I worked on for Baja SAE and not my current buggy, although the rack clevis end is the same.

SCU|MotorSportDesign
02-10-2011, 06:11 PM