Thread: 2003 zx6r help

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    2003 zx6r help
    I've been building a car with a zx6r an I'm new to all of this. Anyone one know much about the 2003 zx6rr? I've got the motor in the car but can't get the motor to crank. I can get the gauges to come on but can't get the engine to crank when pushing the start button. The motor cranks when I jump the relay but that's all what switches need to be by passed an how do I by pass them? Are there resisters that need to be in place? An how so?

2. Collapse Details
    Re: 2003 zx6r help
    first thing you should do is connect the factory wiring harness and switches just like it would be in the bike as much as possible.
    if the engine wont crank its more than likley in gear(make sure u have a neutral light on the cluster)or engage the switmch on the clutch lever.
    Most MC electricals are very reliable and you often dont get issues with the factory set up, get it going on the factory set up first and then work from there.It also helps if you have a wiring diagram too
    good luck

3. Collapse Details
    I've set it up the best I could the way it came off the bike. The problem is I didn't pull the motor off the bike I won't make that mistake again cause it was missing things All of the connections to the wiring harness are connected except for three connections I can't identify from pictures or the schematic I ve been trying to figure out how to post pictures to see if someone could identify them

4. Collapse Details
    Scottsdale, AZ. 10.9 miles from the trailheads
    Welcome to the madness and the frustrating world of wire harnesses.

Here's how to go about posting pictures (please try to keep them 800 pixels wide or less)

Find a wire diagram and you'll be able to chase what's what via the color coding of the wires.

Clutch safety switch, kill switch and kick stand switch would be the first three places I'd look if it's not wanting to turn over.

5. Collapse Details